Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
How To Obtain CEH Certification

How To Obtain CEH Certification

The EC-Council is the provider and author of the well-known Certified Ethical Hacker CEH credential, one of the most popular entry-level cyber security certifications. The CEH exam is designed to test a candidate’s ability to identify and protect against the most common attacks on the internet. Penetration testing experts are ethical hackers who work for a firm to find and report back on security holes that cybercriminals may use to exploit networks. These individuals are sometimes known as “white hat hackers.”

Certified Ethical Hackers have a critical role in the IT sector. Companies now demand more than ever before for ethical hackers that can protect their networks and data against the internet’s ever-changing dangers. This is an incentive to computer specialists with the proper perspective to pursue a career path that is interesting, engaging, and remunerative. According to Payscale, the average CEH holder salary will be close to $83k in 2022.

MyComputerCareer is an educational institution specializing in providing its students with all of the knowledge and skills necessary to pass the CEH v11 exam and earn the highly-coveted EC Council certification. Accredited by the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET) – an organization that’s continuously recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a reliable authority on educational quality since 1978 – MyComputerCareer also provides other cybersecurity programs such as the Cyber Security Specialist (CSS), the Information Technology Security and Administration (ITSA), Cyber Security Engineer (CSE), or the Associate of Applied Science in Network Administration and Cyber Security.

In this article, we will discuss how to become EC-Council certified and what you can expect from the CEH exam.

CEH Exam Eligibility

According to the EC-Council, “the Certified Ethical Hacker certification will fortify the application knowledge of security officers, auditors, security professionals, site administrators, and anyone who is concerned about the integrity of the network infrastructure.”

A CEH must apply the same skills and tools as a malicious hacker but in a legal and legitimate manner. A CEH certification might help experts stand out by demonstrating that they have the theoretical knowledge as well as the technical skills and experience to secure a company’s IT framework. A CEH should be able to use appropriate tools and methods to identify problem areas that cannot be detected by scanning software.

There are two options for professionals looking to meet the Certified Ethical Hacking certification requirements and become CEH certified.

  • Through an official training course – at an official and approved training provider like MyComputerCareer. There are no further CEH requirements if you complete an approved CEH training program.
  • Through hands-on training – Candidates who wish to be considered for testing without attending CEH training must first pass through the CEH application procedure. They must have at least two years of work experience in the information security field. They’ll need to complete an Eligibility Application Form and send it to for approval, as well as pay a $100 eligibility fee.

Candidates will be able to use the eligibility code and the relevant voucher code if approved, which they may then use to register for and schedule the test at Pearson VUE and ECC test centers. They have three months from receipt of their eligibility code to purchase a test voucher through EC-Council’s webstore. The candidate must take the CEH certification exam within one year after getting their voucher. Vouchers can be renewed once for another three months for $35 if they are valid and unused.

The application fee is $100, and the voucher costs $950 at ECC centers. The Pearson VUE voucher will cost $1,199. The CEHv11 Courseware (Digital Courseware and digital Lab Manual) costs $850. It’s worth noting that if the application isn’t accepted, the $100 application fee will not be refunded.

What Is The CEH Exam Format?

The CEH 312-50 exam is a 125-question, multiple-choice exam that covers a variety of security topics and lasts for up to four hours. The most recent CEH update took place in January 2021. EC-Council’s training is compatible with version 11 of their materials. While the exam is only on its fourth iteration, you may also see CEH v11 used. The following are the objectives for CEH v11:

  1. Reconnaissance Techniques (21%)
  2. System Hacking Phases and Attack Techniques (17%)
  3. Web Application Hacking (16%)
  4. Network and Perimeter Hacking (14%)
  5. Mobile Platform, IoT, and OT Hacking (8%)
  6. Information Security and Ethical Hacking Overview (6%)
  7. Wireless Network Hacking (6%)
  8. Cloud Computing (6%)
  9. Cryptography (6%)

The CEH exam tests your ability to master and apply the fundamentals of a topic area. The test covers skills that subject-matter experts feel are necessary for success in the field. The following are some of the domains (subcategories) covered on the CEH examination, as defined by IT/security professionals:

  • Footprinting and reconnaissance
  • Network scanning
  • Malware threats
  • Sniffing
  • Social engineering
  • Evading IDS, Firewalls, and Honeypots
  • Server hacking
  • SQL injection
  • Denial of service attacks
  • Session hijacking
  • Enumeration
  • Vulnerability analysis

What Is The CEH Passing Score?

Unlike most other test results, the CEH exam has no specific, preset passing score or percentage. While 70% is considered a general passing score, the actual rate varies on several factors based on the question difficulty and the input provided by the experts who set the score. In general, cut scores vary based on which question bank is utilized and can range from 60 to 85 percent, depending on the knowledge and abilities required to demonstrate competence in the areas covered during a candidate’s training.


EC-Council’s Certified Ethical Hacker certification is a globally recognized credential that demonstrates an individual’s ability to protect organizations from cyber threats. To obtain this certification, you must be eligible to take the CEH exam and schedule the exam. Becoming a CEH requires passing the exam, which is composed of 125 questions and has a time limit of four hours. The EC-Council exam policies must be followed when registering for and taking the CEH exam.

Are you interested in obtaining EC-Council’s Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification? If so, contact MyComputerCareer today and learn what you need to do to make your dreams a reality. Aside from CEH certification training, we also provide training for top IT certifications from organizations such as Microsoft, CompTIA, Cisco, and Linux. The school also offers ongoing Career Services and Financial Aid for those who qualify.

Ready to learn more about getting IT certified to start your new career and life? Click below to request information

Start Your
Career Journey Now!