Certifications are a great way for anyone, regardless of age, gender, background, job role, or work experience, to boost their resumes’ credibility and make a more impactful impression on recruiters and managers. Those that find themselves at an entry-level, in particular, will gain a great way of standing out from the rest, as well as receive a boost to their pay right from the start. As they advance in their career, more advanced certifications will help further people’s professional development. By that point, they will be fully aware of what skills they need to follow their desired career path. When it comes to the IT sector, in particular, certifications play an increasingly important role.

As more and more companies continue to rely on increasingly complex information systems, the need for experienced and certified IT professionals are also growing. IT certified individuals have a significant advantage since the rigorous exams and other certification prerequisites indicate both knowledge and experience.

Statistics also indicate that different certifications in information technology can significantly increase their earnings. For instance, around 23% of experienced IT professionals saw a 20% increase in their salary after getting a certificate. According to CompTIA, about 72% of employers require that people with a certificate should only cover certain positions within their organization. Also, around 92% believe that IT certificates will ensure the credibility of their staff.

Those looking to receive professional IT certification training and obtain a certificate in the field of choice will also experience more opportunities to progress. Below are some of the different certifications in IT that are most in demand in 2021.

What IT Certifications Should I Get in 2021

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) is a cybersecurity certification that will provide the security professional with the necessary skills and knowledge to look for vulnerabilities. The purpose of the CEH certificate is to help the security engineer learn the same tools and know-how as hackers. Through various techniques such as penetration testing, the ethical hacker will identify, assess, and fix any existing system issues. Ethical hacking uses cybercriminals’ tools against them. There are three different levels to the Certified Ethical Hacker exam – Core, Advanced, and Expert.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Another in-demand cybersecurity certification is CISSP. Accredited by the International Information Systems Certification Consortium (ISC), the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is a highly sought-after cybersecurity certification that indicates an individual’s skill in designing, implementing, and managing some of the best cybersecurity programs.

With this CISSP certification program, users will become specialists in various cybersecurity issues that apply to risk management, application development, cloud computing, mobile security, and more. The CISSP certification prerequisites will include a minimum of five years of paid and relevant work experience in two or more CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) domains. Those that do not have these requirements can still take the certification exam. However, they have up to six years to obtain the necessary security experience.

CompTIA Security+

This CompTIA certification is an excellent entry-level cybersecurity certificate. It’s a good option for those looking to become a network security engineer, IT auditor, cybersecurity consultant, security analyst, administrator, or penetration tester, among other such positions. The CompTIA Security+ certification exam will cover various information security aspects such as cryptography, technology, threats, vulnerabilities, tools, identity management, and more.

CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+)

The CySA+ Certification course has no prerequisites, like is the case with the above-mentioned CISSP certification program, which means anyone can take this exam. Nevertheless, it’s advised that those looking to acquire it should also have around three years of experience in information security or have earned the CompTIA Security + certificate mentioned above.

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+)

The CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+) certification is especially suited for technical professionals who want to focus more on the technology than strictly managing. CASP+ is a performance-based and hands-on cybersecurity certificate. While cybersecurity managers will help identify the frameworks and policies that need to be implemented, a CASP+ certified professional will figure out how to implement solutions within those policies and frameworks. The CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner certification will also validate any advanced-level competencies in enterprise cybersecurity architecture and operations, risk management, and integration.

Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA)

As an entry-level certification, the Microsoft Technology Associate certificate is superficially designed for just starting in information technology. It’s also a good option for those looking to change career paths. This Microsoft certification will cover all the basics of hardware, software, databases, and infrastructure.

For those looking to become a systems administrator, specialists in networking, security, and become IT auditors, the MTA (Microsoft certification) will be an excellent stepping stone. It has no other prerequisites and provides the foundation for the much-needed technological understanding.

While the MTA will not qualify you as a Microsoft Certified Professional, it will help you get there.  After the MTA, the next Microsoft certification is the Microsoft Technology Specialist (MCTS), which will require more hands-on experience with the Microsoft technology platform. There are several MTA exams available in the area of IT infrastructure, database, or development. Passing one of these exams will earn you the MTA certification.

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Routing & Switching

This CCNA certification will also be an excellent option for becoming involved in networking or an entry-level position at a help desk. This certificate will imply that the user has some degree of understanding of Cisco CLI and Cisco IOS Software operating models. The CCNA Routing & Switching will show that you can identify the Cisco router and switch models, interfaces, cabling, and accessories.

MyComputerCareer can help you get the necessary certification training and provide flexible scheduling, lifetime career services for graduates, and career opportunities. For more information, contact us today!