For Individuals

What Certification Would Help In A Career In Cybersecurity

What Certification Would Help In A Career In Cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity has proven to be a profitable field, so it’s not surprising industry careers are in high demand. 

A recent study by cybersecurity jobs site CyberSeek found there are currently over 769,736 cybersecurity job openings in the United States alone. 

With such a high demand for certified cyber security professionals, it’s no surprise many people want to get into the field.

While some information systems security professionals have a degree in cybersecurity or a related field, such as computer science or information technology, others don’t. A degree isn’t necessary for people to work as certified information systems security professionals. 

When it comes to cybersecurity, certifications can be more important than a degree, as they show that you have the skills and knowledge needed to do the job.

With the number of cybersecurity jobs on the rise, businesses are looking for qualified candidates with the right skills and certifications. 

MyComputerCareer is a leading provider of high-value certification programs and can help you every step of the way, including finding a new job in this ever-growing field. 

But first, what cybersecurity certification should you get to help you land a job in this industry?

Certifications that can advance your cybersecurity career

There are many cybersecurity certifications available, but which one is right for you? 

It depends on your experience level, goals, and interests.

  • Entry-level certifications will solidify your knowledge of cybersecurity fundamentals. 
  • Expert and mid-level certifications in cybersecurity, on the other hand, will allow you to specialize in a more niche area.

Entry-level certifications

Entry-level cyber security certifications will help you get your foot in the door, while more advanced certifications will help you move up in your career.

So, if you’re just starting out in the world of cybersecurity, you should consider an entry-level certification, such as the CompTIA Network+ or CompTIA Security+.

  • CompTIA Network+

The Network+ certification helps you gain a fundamental understanding of how computers and networks function. 

Networking concepts, networking operations, infrastructures, networking security, and troubleshooting techniques are among the topics covered in this program.

This cert is valid for three years after it is completed. 

Those who earn this certification can go on to work in such positions as a systems administrator, IT management, and network administrator professions.

  • CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ certification expands your knowledge of encryption, risk management, and cyber vulnerabilities. Identity management, access management, risk management, network security architecture, and network design are all standard topics. 

After completion, this certification is valid for three years. Many people who earn this certification go on to work as cybersecurity analysts, security engineers, or security consultants.

Both of these certifications can either kickstart or upskill your cybersecurity career. 

Mid-level Certifications

Mid-level cybersecurity certifications, on the other hand, such as the CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+) or the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), are geared toward those who want to specialize in a certain area of cybersecurity.

These certifications will help you develop more advanced skills and knowledge in cybersecurity, which can lead to higher-paying and more senior positions.

  • CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+)

The CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+) is intended for cybersecurity professionals with advanced skills who wish to continue their careers in technology (as opposed to management). 

Advanced topics covered in the certification exam include risk analysis, enterprise security domain, securing cloud and virtualization technologies, software vulnerability, and cryptographic techniques.

The CASP+ can lead to advanced positions in network security architecture, risk management, and corporate security integration. 

The most popular certified information security positions are security architect, security engineer, technical lead analyst, application security engineer, and vulnerability analyst.

  • Ethical Hacker Certification (CEH)

The certified ethical hacker (CEH) is a mid-level cybersecurity certification that focuses on the tools and techniques used by cyber attackers to exploit systems. 

Also known as white hat hacking, ethical hacking is used to find vulnerabilities in systems so they can be fixed before a malicious hacker (a black hat hacker) exploits them. 

This cybersecurity program covers hacking technologies, the most recent vulnerabilities, and information security laws and standards.

This certification is valid for three years and can provide the skills to become a cyber incident analyst, penetration tester, threat intelligence analyst, cybersecurity architect, or cloud security architect.

Expert-level Certifications

Expert-level cyber security certifications are intended for those who want to specialize in a specific area of cybersecurity or advance to management positions. 

  • Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

One of the best expert-level certifications that can advance your cybersecurity career is Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA). With this certification, you can show your future employer you possess important experience in protecting Cisco networks.

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is a globally recognized expert-level certification validating your ability to work with medium-size routed and switched networks. 

This cybersecurity program covers network fundamentals, LAN switching technologies, IPv4 and IPv6 routing technologies, WAN technologies, infrastructure services, and infrastructure security. Common curriculum subjects are recognizing threats, understanding vulnerabilities, mitigating security threats, and developing security infrastructures.

This certification is valid for three years and can lead to a network administrator, network engineer, systems engineer, and network technician positions. 

Earning your CCNA can also help you advance to a Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) or Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE) certification.


Cybersecurity certifications can help validate your skills and knowledge in the cybersecurity field, making you a more attractive candidate for employers. 

Having a certificate can also help you advance your career by qualifying you for positions such as network administrator, network engineer, cybersecurity analyst, and cybersecurity architect. 

If you’re looking to specialize in a certain area of cybersecurity or move into management, there are expert-level certifications available. 

With so many options to choose from, there’s a certification out there to help you achieve your cybersecurity career goals.

MyComputerCareer offers these and other certifications to both individuals and businesses. Choose a certification that aligns with your goals and interests, get in touch with us, and start your cybersecurity journey today!

Ready to learn more about getting IT certified to start your new career and life? Click below to request information


Start Your
Career Journey Now!

By clicking SUBMIT, you are agreeing to our
Opt-In and Privacy Policy. We respect and protect your privacy.