Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
What Are The Cisco CCNA Certifications

What Are The Cisco CCNA Certifications?

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is a technical network certification that applies to all sorts of engineers. Entry-level network experts, Network Administrators, Network Support Engineers, and Network Specialists are some of the job titles covered by this certification.

The CCNA is a sought-after certification among many computer network engineers since it covers a wide range of networking topics. Candidates will be better equipped to tackle the newest networking technologies they will encounter in their future roles.

There are several different CCNA Certifications available to choose from, so it can be hard to know where to start. Because Cisco is the world’s leading network router and switching company, MyComputerCareer includes the Cisco Certified Network Associate credential in our cybersecurity specialist program. We think that this training will assist you in establishing a long-term career in the field of Information Technology. For more information, contact us today! 

This article will give you an overview of the different types of CCNA Certifications and what they offer. We’ll also include some tips on which one might be best for your needs!

The Different Types of Cisco Certified Network Associate Certifications

The Cisco Certified Network Associate credential is a Cisco-sponsored IT networking certification program. It’s a certification course for all sorts of engineers. Entry-level network engineers, Network Administrators, Network Support Engineers, and Network Specialists are among the jobs covered by the program. Among computer network technicians, the CCNA credential is in high demand.

The CCNA credential is a broad generalist certification that covers a wide range of network topics. It aids students in preparing for the most up-to-date networking technologies they will encounter on the job. Below are the different types of CCNA certifications:

CCNA Routing and Switching 

You’ll learn about the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Routing and Switching, a globally recognized credential that equips you with the skills and knowledge needed to install, operate, and troubleshoot small company networks. This certification will help network experts validate their understanding of 1-3 network layers relevant to core routing and switching.

CCNA Security

The Cisco CCNA Security certification is a job-role-focused training and certification program that allows you to maximize your investment in foundational networking knowledge. It provides specialized training beyond the basics of entry-level network support, Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT), or Cisco Certified Support Associate (CCSA) certifications.

It teaches candidates how to secure switched and routed networks using industry best practices. In addition, it focuses on implementing strong security for endpoints, applications, cloud services, data center environments, and more.

CCNA Service Provider

The Cisco CCNA Service Provider certification is a job-role-focused training and certification program. It focuses on implementing, operating, configuring, and troubleshooting the Juniper Networks M320 router in LAN access and WAN access networks.

In addition to this important knowledge area, it teaches candidates how to deploy IPv46 and IPv41 services in branch offices using best practices for high availability networking solutions. These include virtual routing instances (VRFs), Virtual Private Network (VPNs) internetworking technologies such as MPLS Layer-and VPN Pass-through secure socket layer/virtual private network protocols, VLANs & routed port mode configurations, etc.

This course will help you become more familiar with Cisco products by making knowledgeable decisions when planning enterprise campus core and remote access network deployments.

CCNA Wireless

This course will deepen your knowledge in wireless LAN technologies, Cisco Prime Infrastructure & Identity Services, and Meraki cloud-managed services. The program includes basic security features, including WPA/WAP with Personal mode, Rogue AP containment (Layer-11), and rogue SSID broadcast control (through the Cisco CleanAir technology).

It also features wireless intrusion prevention systems, air quality monitoring tools for spectrum management, location tracking services using RF triangulation capabilities. The course teaches students how to configure a WLAN controller, access points & controllers in stand-alone mode as well as in mobility group mode.

CCNA Collaboration

This certificate is for video engineers in the field of network, IP telephony, and IP networks. It’s designed to help them learn how to work together more effectively in voice, video, data, and mobile apps.

The CCNA Collaboration program offers instruction on Cisco’s collaboration products. It also provides students with the knowledge they need to successfully install, configure, operate and maintain Cisco’s Unified Communications solutions.

CCNA Cyber Operations

The Cyber Operations certification aims to educate applicants for associate-level cybersecurity analysis roles in security operations centers. It will provide you with the knowledge and skills required to understand how an enterprise network infrastructure is designed, implemented, and used.

You’ll also become familiar with key security technologies such as firewalls, Network Access Control (NAC), intrusion prevention systems (IPSs) & virtual private networks (VPNs).

CCNA Cloud

The Cisco Certified Cloud Networking Associate (CCNA Cloud) certification is for individuals who wish to develop or validate their cloud skills. It will allow them to assist their organizations in meeting the ever-changing requirements of different technological transitions.

It’s the only certification available covering all major Cisco cloud technologies such as Application Centric Infrastructure (ACI), OpenStack, and Cloud Management System (CMS).

CCNA Data Center Technologies

The CCNA Data Center certification will provide information on installing, configuring, and maintaining data center technology. The program includes instruction on virtualization, storage networking, and high-performance data center design.

The product of this program is a network administrator who can install, configure, maintain and troubleshoot the data center technologies. CCNA Data Center Technologies certification provides knowledge on designing, implementing, and maintaining data center infrastructure.

This certification is for Network engineers responsible for designing, configuring & supporting virtual networks in their organization. These include creating VLANs across multiple switches with different IP subnets; configuring port channels between Cisco Nexus 7000 Series Switches using Supervisor Engines in active/standby mode or load balancing traffic on an Etherchannel, and configuring VXLANs.


It is important to note that, with the exception of the CCNA Cyber Operations, all others will be replaced with the CCNA Composite certification. The new exams will include topics from all other current associate-level certifications, such as Cybersecurity Operations (SECOPS), Industrial Control Systems Security (ICS), and Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT).

The CCNA credential does not have any prerequisites, and it is one of the most popular CISCO certifications. It will serve as the groundwork for your understanding of network operation. MyComputerCareer can assist you if you are looking to enter this profession. Contact us today for more information!

Ready to learn more about getting IT certified to start your new career and life? Click below to request information

Start Your
Career Journey Now!