For Individuals

What Are The Best IT Certifications To Start With

What Are The Best IT Certifications To Start With?

If you’re looking to start a career in Information Technology, then you need to become certified. IT certifications are the best way to prove your skills and knowledge to potential employers. Certified professionals in the IT sector are in particularly high demand as the industry continues to grow.

In fact, the qualified skilled gap in the industry is only expected to widen in the coming years. So, if you’re looking to get ahead of the competition, then you need to start working on your entry-level IT certifications. MyComputerCareer is an educational organization specialized in providing certification preparedness courses, as well as continuous Career Services and Financial Aid, for those who qualify.

That said, there are many different IT certifications available, so it can be difficult to know which ones are the best to start with. In this article, we will discuss the importance of becoming certified in Information Technology and list several of the best entry-level IT certifications you should consider starting with!

CompTIA A+

One of the best entry-level IT certifications candidates should start with is the CompTIA A+ certification. This certification is a globally recognized credential that proves you have the skills and knowledge necessary to support, configure, and troubleshoot computer systems. Earning your CompTIA A+ certification can help you jumpstart your career in Information Technology as well as get a firm foothold onto the CompTIA certification tree.

CompTIA Network+

The CompTIA Network+ is a basic networking certification that covers networking topics, problem-solving, operations, software, security, and IT infrastructure. The certificate is aimed at junior network administrators, field technicians, system engineers with a bachelor’s degree in computer science who want to pursue further education in IT management or engineering leadership roles. Before taking the exam, it is suggested you have your CompTIA A+ credential and at least 9 to 12 months of networking expertise. However, it is not necessary.

The exam validates your understanding of network equipment, functional networks, troubleshooting networks, and cyber security. It’s a well-known and worthwhile certification that will set you apart from other entry-level applicants if you know you want to work closely with IT networks.

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+ is a must-have IT competence for any technology position, so gaining your entry-level CompTIA Security+ certification is a smart idea. It’s suited to network, system, security administrators; security experts; junior IT auditors; security consultants; and security engineers.

The 90-minute exam covers threats, assaults, and vulnerabilities; risk management; architecture and design; technology and tools; cryptography and PKI; and identity and access management. Employers will be able to see you have the ability to install and configure systems so that apps, networks, and devices are secure in accordance with compliance regulations after earning your Security+ certification.

Linux Essentials

If you’re looking to break into the Linux administration field, the Linux Essentials certification is a great place to start. The credential is designed for people who want to learn about using and administering Linux systems—from the command line interface (CLI) through graphical user interfaces (GUIs).

As an operating system, Linux is found in many devices and applications, making it a valuable skill for IT professionals. As businesses move to the cloud, more jobs are opening up that require Linux skills. The Linux Essentials certification is your first step on the road to becoming a certified Linux administrator.

The exam objectives include understanding essential commands, files, and directories, managing users and groups, navigating the file system, setting up networking, and working with services. Earning your Linux Essentials certification proves you have a basic working knowledge of this open-source operating system used in homes, businesses, government organizations, and schools worldwide.

Microsoft Fundamentals

The Microsoft Fundamentals certification is entry-level and designed for individuals who want to learn about using Microsoft products, services, and technologies. The certification focuses on the basics of working with Microsoft technologies. If you’re interested in a career in IT support or administration, this is a great starting point. The exam covers Windows operating systems, cloud services, mobile devices, and security. It’s a good way to show employers you have the basic skills needed to work with Microsoft technologies.

Earning your Microsoft Fundamentals certification proves you have the essential knowledge to begin using Microsoft products and technologies. This can give you a leg up when applying for entry-level jobs or internships in the IT field.

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) credential validates you have the skills to manage and optimize today’s most advanced networks. The CCNA exam covers networking fundamentals, IP services, security fundamentals, automation, and programmability. The CCNA is designed for flexibility and adaptation and demonstrates you have the talents required to handle and improve today’s most complex networks.

With a CCNA, you’ll be qualified for entry-level network engineer positions and can advance your career by pursuing higher-level Cisco certifications. Earning your CCNA also proves you have the skills to install, operate, configure, and troubleshoot medium-size routed and switched networks. The CCNA certification is proof you have the skills required for a successful career in IT networking. If you’re looking to start or further your career in IT, the CCNA is a great place to begin.


Entry-level IT certifications are essential for anyone looking to enter the IT field. They provide a foundation of knowledge that can be applied to any entry-level position in IT. The certifications listed above are some of the best entry-level IT certifications available. Candidates should consider these certifications when starting their IT careers.

MyComputerCareer is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training, which is continuously recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a reliable authority on educational quality since 1978. The school is offering training for numerous IT certifications from leading organizations such as Microsoft, CompTIA, Cisco, EC-Council, and Linux. MyComputerCareer also provides specialized programs such as the Information Technology Security and Administration (ITSA), Cyber Security Specialist (CSS), Cyber Security Engineer (CSE), and the Associate of Applied Science in Network Administration and Cyber Security.

Reach out to us if you have any questions about entry-level IT certifications or if you’re interested in getting started towards a well-paid and highly sought-after career in Information Technology.

Ready to learn more about getting IT certified to start your new career and life? Click below to request information


Start Your
Career Journey Now!

By clicking SUBMIT, you are agreeing to our
Opt-In and Privacy Policy. We respect and protect your privacy.